MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE LEICESTERSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL HELD AT COUNTY HALL, GLENFIELD ON WEDNESDAY, 2 JULY 2025

PRESENT

Mr. P. Harrison CC (in the Chair)

Mr. C. Abbott CC, Mr. R. Bailey CC, Dr. J. Bloxham CC, Mr. J. Boam CC, Mr. M. Bools CC, Mrs. N. Bottomley CC, Mr. S. Bradshaw CC, Mr. S. L. Bray CC, Miss. H. Butler CC, Mr. M. H. Charlesworth CC, Mr. G. Cooke CC, Mr. K. Crook CC, Mrs. L. Danks CC, Mr. M. Durrani CC, Mr. M. R. England CC, Mr. H. Fowler CC, Mr. S. J. Galton CC, Mr. D. A. Gamble CC, Ms. B. Gray CC, Mr. D. J. Grimley CC, Mr. A. Hamilton-Gray CC, Mr. D. Harrison CC, Dr. S. Hill CC, Mr. N. Holt CC, Mr. A. Innes CC, Mr. P. King CC, Mrs. K. Knight CC, Mr. B. Lovegrove CC, Mr. J. McDonald CC, Mr. J. Melen CC, Mr. P. Morris CC, Mr. M. T. Mullaney CC, Mr. O. O'Shea JP CC, Mr. J. T. Orson CC, Mr. D. Page CC, Mrs. R. Page CC, Ms. A. Pendlebury CC, Mr J. Poland CC, Mr. V. Richichi CC, Mr. K. Robinson CC, Mr. P. Rudkin CC, Mrs B. Seaton CC, Mr. C. A. Smith CC, Mr. M. Squires CC, Mrs D. Taylor CC, Mr. A. Tilbury CC, Mr. B. Walker CC and Mr. C. Whitford CC

13. TO RECEIVE DECLARATIONS BY MEMBERS OF INTERESTS IN RESPECT OF ITEMS ON THIS AGENDA.

The Chairman invited members who wished to do so to make declarations of interest in respect of items on the agenda for the meeting.

No declarations were made.

14. TO CONSIDER THE FOLLOWING NOMINATIONS FOR ADMISSION AS HONORARY ALDERMEN: -

Mr David Bill MBE

It was moved by Mr Mullaney and seconded by Mr Bray:

"That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Mr David Bill be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Leicestershire in recognition of the eminent services he has rendered to the people of Leicestershire through the performance of his duties as a member of the County Council from 1981 to 2025."

The motion was put and carried with the unanimous support of the Council.

The Chairman then presented Mr Bill with the address conferring the title of Honorary Alderman and a badge of office.

Mr Bill addressed the Council and thanked members for the honour they had bestowed upon him.

Dr Kevin Feltham

It was moved by Mrs Taylor and seconded by Mr D Harrison:

"That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Dr Kevin Feltham be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Leicestershire in recognition of the eminent services he has rendered to the people of Leicestershire through the performance of his duties as a member of the County Council from 2001 to 2025."

The motion was put and carried with the unanimous support of the Council.

The Chairman then presented Dr Feltham with the address conferring the title of Honorary Alderman and a badge of office.

Dr Feltham addressed the Council and thanked members for the honour they had bestowed upon him.

Ms Betty Newton

It was moved by Ms Gray and seconded by Mrs Bottomley:

"That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Ms Betty Newton be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Leicestershire in recognition of the eminent services she has rendered to the people of Leicestershire through the performance of her duties as a member of the County Council from 2005 to 2025."

The motion was put and carried with the unanimous support of the Council.

The Chairman then presented Ms Newton with the address conferring the title of Honorary Alderman and a badge of office.

Ms Newton addressed the Council and thanked members for the honour they had bestowed upon her.

Mr Richard Shepherd

It was moved by Mrs Taylor and seconded by Mr D Harrison:

"That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Mr Richard Shepherd be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Leicestershire in recognition of the eminent services he has rendered to the people of Leicestershire through the performance of his duties as a member of the County Council from 2005 to 2025."

The motion was put and carried with the unanimous support of the Council.

The Chairman then presented Mr Shepherd with the address conferring the title of Honorary Alderman and a badge of office.

Mr Shepherd addressed the Council and thanked members for the honour they had bestowed upon him.